As we grow up, we learn to walk. We learn to make friends. We learn about wars. We learn about society. We learn about ourselves.

Although I’m only 19 years old, (that feels so cool to say, because it’s my birthday today–sorry I got excited) I think I’ve learned a lot about myself in the past 19 years. However, the most I’ve learned in the past year.

During my freshman year of college, I learned real friends will make an effort to stay in contact with you. I learned boys like to present themselves as men. School work can be hard, but anything is manageable, if you put forth the time and effort. I learned you can’t always be the best, without having a mental breakdown. I learned mistakes are acceptable, as long as you learn from them.

The truth is we can all be our own heroes. If I ever have kids and they are asked who their “hero” is, though it would be flattering for them to say me, I’d much rather they respond, “I am.”

We live in a generation where we are blamed for nearly every social constriction, though these were taught to us by our parents. Most notably, the Millennial Generation is known for or social networking.

But my question is why do we network so much online?

My theory: We are all looking for a connection.

Whether it is Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Pinterest, Tumblr etc. we connect with other people. When we do so, we are looking for something–a connection. We want likes on our pictures. We want to learn about the latest news. We want to see what other people are doing. We want people to follow us to see what we are doing.

Wanting all of these things seems to have sprung up in our generation. Is it from the new “core family” of having both mom and dad working? Therefore leaving us alone to make decisions. Is it our genuine curiosity, as we have evolved as a species? Maybe. Is it our competitive drive of self-preservation fueled by our innate selfishness? Perhaps.

I honestly don’t have a real answer. If you do, I’d love to hear it.

But honestly, I think we are all just looking to belong somewhere. We want something other than what we have. We want better.

Simultaneously, we want a connection. We like it when people retweet our tweet. It validates our position in society. It brings us security. And isn’t that what comes with being a hero? Providing security for us.

