Growing up in a strictly Catholic home and having a nun for a grandmother, religion has kind of been a big part of my life. The expectations of going to Church, receiving all the sacraments, having mainly Republican views are all obligatory for participants of such a religion.

I don’t believe any of this is necessary.

As far as I am concerned, faith and religion are to different things. Religion is commonly associated with the institution of the Church, therefore creating a cultural and social divide. On the other hand, faith is the belief in something or rather some being. Too often, people assume that you must have one of these in order to have the other. I don’t believe that.

I’ve seen priests who spend the parishes money on renovations for their home, rather than on the ministries of the Church dedicated to the poor. Yet, I’ve also seen priests give up everything they once owned for an ascetic life serving God.

So I guess my question is: Is it possible to have a balance? My answer: Yes.

I go to Church, I say regular prayers, but most importantly I trust. I trust that God truly is running things in the world and that this whole mess of a world we live in is all a part of his “big plan.”I trust that God will always provide and when he does not it’s because he has something else up his sleeve.

So trust not because you can, but because you know it’s right. Trust because you have faith.

