I’m going to be honest, not many things surprise me anymore. Not the drivers on the road who choose to tailgate me, or any entitled customers. So why was I so surprised to learn the majority of the U.S. knows little to nothing about domestic policy?

I guess I just expected more from a nation that prides itself on having one of the best education systems in the world.

In March 2013, after the United States announced the number of Syrian refugees from the Syrian civil war had reached the 1 million mark, a Pew Research survey found only about 50% of U.S. citizens could identify Syria on a map. Yet, the same survey stated more than 60% of the population (in age ranges from 18-50+) could identity the Twitter logo.

So……
Here are my questions:
What is the use of communicating information the public has absolutely no background on, or inclination regarding circumstance? Who’s job is it to provide this information? Journalists? Schools (what level of education)? Individuals?
How can this information be communicated on a mulit-dimensional platform such as Twitter, while maintaining, in essence, at least a bilateral argument?

Recognizing not everyone is well-versed in political rhetoric, I must therefore ask what is the minimal amount of this rhetoric all people should know? We live in a “democracy” right, but who should decide this?

I don’t have all the answers and I know not one person does. So, let’s make this an ongoing discussion. So please comment below, or repost this with a response & let’s create some dialogue!

